Tell me More French Review

Editor’s Rating
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Supports
Overall Rating
Information
Price $229-$599
Free Course
Special Offers 25% Off

Learning French is easy with “TopTenREVIEWS Gold Award” winner, Tell Me More French. Tell Me More brings together a wide variety of features and teaching tools to offer a comprehensive French course that can teach you, regardless of your learning style. The Tell Me More curriculum is highly customizable, so you can learn how you want to or you can follow the prescribed course lessons.

Among other things, Tell Me More excels in teaching pronunciation because of its extensive speech recognition system. Besides evaluating the way to say a word, Tell Me More has 3D representations of how basic sounds are formed and many sound files of native speakers to guide you.

Tell Me More also has one of the best systems for evaluating your progress in the language and practicing what you have learned. Tell Me More offers this through online testing services and an online chat service that allows you to chat with French experts. Add MP3 player compatibility and useful customer support to this broad range of features and tools and Tell Me More easily takes the lead in our review.

Read User’s Reviews

Buy Tell Me More Chinese Now

Related French Learning Software

Tell me More French V.10 Features


Tell me More French
The new TELL ME MORE® version 10 is a true milestone in language learning. Developed by a team of language experts, TELL ME MORE® leverages the renowned Communicative Approach, a methodology used in schools and universities around the world. TELL ME MORE® implements this methodology using the exclusive PRIME approach.

Tell me More Version 10 French have 4 french learning programs, include 10 levels, 5 levels, 2 levels and Tell me More French 10+2 business levels. You can choose a suitable learning plan with the situation of your french level.

Features Comparison of All French Learning Programs

French Learning Program TELL ME MORE version 10 French (10 Levels) TELL ME MORE version 10 French (5 Levels) TELL ME MORE version 10 French (2 Levels) TELL ME MORE version 10 French(10+2 business levels)
Price US$649.00 US$449.00 US$229.00 MSRP: US$799.00 US$699.00
Final Target TELL ME MORE® v10 French 10 Levels will allow you to master french, providing you with the most complete and extensive offer to learn French.
TELL ME MORE® v10 French 5 Levels will allow you to significantly increase your French language skills.
TELL ME MORE® v10 French 2 Levels will allow you to jumpstart your French language skills.
TELL ME MORE® v10 Spanish 10+2 Business Levels will allow you to master French, and also conduct business in French with 2 exclusive levels of business French.
Learning Level * Contains 10 distinct levels of content, from Beginner to Advanced.
* 20 hours of interactive video.
* 20,000 exercises that keep your learning fresh and engaging
* After taking a placement test, you can choose 5 consecutive levels amongst 10 distinct levels of content, from Beginner to Advanced.
* 10 hours of interactive video.
* 10,000 exercises that keep your learning fresh and engaging.
* After taking a placement test, you can choose 2 consecutive levels amongst 10 distinct levels of content, from Beginner to Advanced.
* 2 hours of interactive video.
* 4,000 exercises that keep your learning fresh and engaging.
* 12 consecutive levels of content, from Beginner to Advanced to Business Levels.
* 22 hours of interactive video.
* 21,800 exercises that keep your learning fresh and engaging.
90-day Money Back Yes Yes Yes Yes

Click here, Get a 25% Discount

for

Tell me More Language Learning Software

New Features of Tell me More French Version 10

New User Interface

The clean lines, uncluttered screens, simple icons, tight color scheme and overall usability makes your language learning fun and easy.

New Activity

The Virtual Conversation activity engages you in an interactive conversation environment featuring a variety of characters.

New Tracking Tools

Visualize your progress throughout the entire program.

EXCLUSIVE SERVICES TO ASSIST YOU WITH YOUR LEARNING

– An exclusive Progress Test to evaluate your progress.
– A 24/7 Online Adviser.

STATE-OF-THE-ART TECHNOLOGY

– The most advanced speech recognition on the market, allowing you to significantly improve your pronunciation.
– S.E.T.S. (Spoken Error Tracking System) technology that pinpoints mispronounced words.
– A role play activity that allows you to play a character in an original TV series.

LEARN “ON THE GO” WITH TELL ME MORE®

– On your PocketPC (MPEG videos, audio files, cultural texts, etc.)
– On your MP3 player (Including iPods and other MP3 devices)
– On audio CDs.
– On printable vocabulary lists and grammatical explanations.

Reviews From Tell me More French Users


Three years and still going, Sunday, 13 April 2008 – frenchcourseware.com

By A.R.

I bought this product three years ago and have been using every addon since. This is a lifetime worth of desktop resources.

The software is a bit cludgy to use, like different programs thrown together, but it doesn’t impact their usefulness or your learning. More recent versions might have a cleaner interface.

Before You Know It is simply AMAZING. It’s a must have, even if you don’t buy the complete learning suite.

More than just tourist software, Saturday, 12 April 2008 – frenchcourseware.com

By Rick Brenner

I bought Fluenz several months before my trip to Niger and I loved it. I don’t know how I would’ve gotten around without it.

I disagree that it’s just for travelers. I’m still using it to learn French now that I’m back in the US. It’s a great introduction level course.

Probably the best out there so far., Wednesday, 09 April 2008

By A. Mikolich

I’ve tried Rosetta and Tell Me More and they both have pros and cons. Rosetta is great for training your ears to hear and understand French. Tell Me More is better for learning how to speak French. The Tell Me More speech recognition is totally necessary for learning to speak French, I don’t know what I would have done without it. Overall I give Tell Me More a higher rating because it has way more lessons and the speech recognition.

Thoroughly pleased, October 27, 2009 – amazon.com

By lc (Minneapolis, MN) Amazon Verified Purchase

I have had this program for 2 months, and I am thrilled with the program. The dynamic mode forces me to work on the areas that I am weak in, and the entire program is incredibly flexible to your learning needs. I have recommended the program to friends who want to visit a foreign country and who want to read and write in a foreign language. I did extensive research before I bought this program, comparing Tell Me More, Rosetta Stone, and Fluenz, and Tell Me More seemed to be far above these other programs. So far, I am not disappointed.

It would be nice if the manual were more thorough, although the 24/7 online help nearly makes up for it. There are also a few errors in the program (backwards accents, etc.), but nothing major.

So Glad I Bought IT!, May 22, 2009 – amazon.com

By Good-Earth-Store “Good-Earth-Store”(CA)

I am so glad I did not buy Rosetta Stone! I read and looked through many reviews on this item and so far the reviews did not lie. It is easy to use and the program makes sure you pronounce it correctly. A must have. Will purchase the Spanish as soon as I am done with the French

je parle francais!, June 6, 2008 – amazon.com

By Richard Yip (USA)

I bought this software as we were planning a trip to France and wanted to learn it before leaving. We were able to create different accounts for each family member, which was great. We all had a lot of fun doing it together as there are tons of different exercises. It is very complete and extensive. The speaking activities are very useful and I truly fell I improved my pronunciation. Learning French has been a blast with tell me more.

Great software to learn French, January 22, 2009 – amazon.com

By Michelle Waldin (Wichita, KS)

I got this product for Christmas, along with the Spanish one, and I love it! It is very complete and the activities are very fun. I use it daily and fell I improved my French so much already. The ability to speak and have scores on how well you pronounced words is very good.

Tell me More French Review – About.com


Special Holiday Savings from TELL ME MORE

Tell me More is an all-in-one, award-winning software program. Divided into ten levels, from complete beginner to expert, Tell Me More offers speech recognition and individual progress evaluation with 2,000 hours of French learning in more than 10,000 exercises.

Customized French Learning

Tell Me More French includes numerous customization options. Three modes offer users the ability to adapt the program to their individual learning styles:

  • Free-to-roam mode: pick and choose your exercises
  • Guided mode: input your objectives and the software will guide you
  • Dynamic mode: software adapts to your progress

You also have the option to hear all instructions in French (total immersion), and you can copy the Tell Me More audio onto a CD, PocketPC, or MP3 player in order to listen away from your computer.

French Lessons

Thirty-seven types of activities divided into six workshops (lesson, grammar, vocabulary, cultural, oral, and written) make it easy to concentrate on the areas that most interest and/or trouble you.

Speech Recognition

The speech recognition technology will evaluate and help you improve your pronunciation, while the phoneme pronunciation exercises include 3-dimensional, animated graphics so that you can see as well as hear exactly how each word is pronounced. (A headset with microphone is included with software.)

Additional French Help

As a supplement to this complete program, you have options for additional learning online:

  • Learning adviser
  • Evaluation tests
  • Weekly lessons based on current events
  • Role play activities

All in all, Tell Me More is an excellent program for learning French, on its own or in conjunction with other on- or off-line studies.

Tell me More French Review – TopTenReviews

Version: Tell me More French Performance Edition

Features:

Tell Me More has a useful summary page that helps you track your progress and identify areas where you are weak. Tell Me More also has one of the most customizable curriculums we have seen. You can choose to follow a set series of lessons, you can choose to have the computer recommend lessons based on your performance, or you can throw structure to the wind and roam freely among the various lessons.

One of the most useful features is the ability to take Tell Me More lessons with you on a mobile device, like your MP3 player, meaning you can continue learning French even when you are away from your computer.

Fundamentals:

There are specific lessons and activities in Tell Me More that focus on reading, writing, vocabulary and grammar, though there are also exercises that incorporate all aspects of learning a language. There are sound files of thousands of words to help with listening comprehension as well. Several activities allow you to practice your French in a conversational setting.

Tell Me More strives hard to teach correct pronunciation. There is a speech recognition system dedicated to teaching you how to say basic sounds and then evaluate your pronunciation of them.

Ease of Use:

Tell Me More falters a little when it comes to ease of use. Some of the icons are almost transparent when the mouse isn’t hovering over them, meaning that you might not even know they are there. Sometimes it is hard to understand what some menu options mean, too.

The biggest problem is that the lesson difficulty is pretty steep at the beginner’s level. The program asks you to do crossword puzzles and word finds without ever teaching you any words first. These word puzzles might be useful for reviewing and reinforcing vocabulary but not for teaching it.

Teaching Tools:

Tell Me More uses picture-word association along with many different word recognition activities to help you master vocabulary. Grammar and culture lessons are taught in a more traditional textbook fashion. One of Tell Me More’s strongest tools is the speech recognition system. While it can be a little finicky at times, occasionally giving false feedback or missing sounds, the speech recognition system is a great way to practice and evaluate your pronunciation.

Tell Me More also offers online help for learners. You can take tests online to gauge your fluency and chat with language experts to help you practice conversation skills and answer questions.Tell Me More also helps you continue your learning beyond what comes in the box by providing additional lessons for online members. Every week you can log in and find a new 30 minute lesson. These additional lessons make Tell Me More one of the best buys because you get so much more than just a CD with flashcards.

Word Tools:

Tell Me More has the ability to translate words in exercises if you get stuck, but there is also a glossary that contains French words used during the lessons.

Tech Support/Help:

Auralog, the manufacturer of Tell Me More, has several avenues for finding information or solving problems. You can contact the company through phone or email, and the user guide can answer problems with setup. The Tell Me More website also has a useful tutorial. However, we weren’t able to find a FAQ even though the user manual claimed there was one on the website.

Summary:

Tell Me More has so many great features and teaching methods that it can’t be beat. Tell Me More is a complete French course that can accommodate any learning style.


TELL ME MORE Language Software

Related French Learning Software Review

Rocket French Learning Software

This is a message from a (very!) satisfied Rocket French customer. My dilemma revealed itself in early January of 2006, as the date was set for early that following July, when our campus would welcome 300 conventioneers, among whom would be about 20 from Quebec, Canada, alumni of our course work who speak primarily in French. Over a number of years, these Quebecois had taken their courses in French from our institute in satellite classes away from the main campus here in Texas.

But this year we were honoring the pioneers among them who had kept French-speaking student numbers strong and growing, over the years.

I had studied in a one-year course for foreign students years ago. With no previous studies in French, I went in 1959-60 as a free student, with no affiliations, to the University of Bordeaux, Faculty of Letters, and had success from this immersion style of learning French. But, my level of fluency had disappeared over the years. Knowing that I could revive some of my comfort in speaking French, I went online and subscribed to Rocket French that arrived faithfully each week from January 20th through June 2nd of this year and I had hopes that that would give me ample time to get comfortable with that beautiful language once again.

My initial plan was to awaken one-hour early each morning to study the given lessons; I started off strong, but found that I only worked with the lessons an average of two times a week. Yet, that proved to be enough to get my tongue back into the groove of speaking French. Surprisingly, the Rocket French lessons validated that I remembered most of the vocabulary. The biggest help to me was in listening and speaking, which became easier as my confidence returned with each passing week.

By the end of the lessons, I was ready for the convention! To my amazement, I worked overtime translating for our staff at the times they made various presentations to our very special French-Canadian guests; during informal times outside of structured hours when I could visit and chat with all of these delightful folks; and during social times when I found every excuse to be with them.

At the end of our six convention days together, three of the group stayed on for an intensive six health & wellness retreat, where three to four times each day I would join them for the table discussion segments built in to their learning time. I actually lost my voice due to speaking so much and so often, but the end result was that the total experience for the French-speakers and certainly for me, was enhanced by the language we shared.

I would not have had the success that I did were it not for having taken the course work offered by Rocket French! My writing and speaking skills were renewed and polished, and reading and writing now comes more easily to me, too.

It was a real advantage to me, now at the age of 67, to have had a previous foundation in the French language, but without the thorough review I experienced with the Rocket French lessons, I might never have let on that I knew French, at all.

I’ve archived all of the lessons to review at any time, certainly before heading to Quebec at the invitation of these enthusiastic students of all ages! And, if I plan things right, I may just take a return trip to France one day, with a special visit to relive my own early student days in Bordeaux. Thanks to Rocket French, I can do it all!

Patricia Holloway
Texas, U.S.A.

FrenchPod French Learning Software

FrenchPod is a website that offers of a series of daily podcasts that you can download onto your computer, mp3 player, or mobile phone, allowing you to learn French at your own pace, at any time of the day or night.  There are also plenty of online tools to help supplement the material in these lessons.

The “newbie” podcasts are totally free, which gives you an idea of the style and content of the lessons.  To get the most out of the FrenchPod audio lessons, it is well worth it (and relatively inexpensive) to become a member and receive access to the comprehensive suite of French learning tools that are available

Rosetta Stone French Learning Software

Rosetta Stone relies on the picture-word association method to teach French. This is effective because it is also the way you learned English. Rosetta Stone helps you associate words and phrases with pictures that you recognize, slowly building a vocabulary. The interface is extremely simple and intuitive so that you can figure out how to operate it without any instruction. But the magical part is that you can also learn grammar along the way, without ever reading a single grammar rule. Speaking French, just like English, becomes innate.

Rosetta Stone also uses audio tracks and a speech recognition system to help you improve pronunciation, listening comprehension and conversation skills. Rosetta Stone manages to pack all the fundamentals into a simpler package than any other program. The program isn’t perfect, though. Some of the things that kept Rosetta Stone from getting the top ranking was a lack of mobile compatibility, lack of culture lessons and the added expense of separate intermediate and advanced programs.

Transparent French Learning Software

With Transparent Italian Complete Edition‘s new and improved Frech learning software, Transparent Language has produced yet another strong contender. French Complete Edition posseses all the basic ingredients to make learning French both easy and fun.

French Complete Edition is an assemble of several learning software which have been bundled together in one easy to follow package. The software is great for those who are just starting up as it has been equipped with everything from audio, video, grammar and countless other useful features that will encourage your mind to keep learning. French Complete Edition works in tandem with Byki, a supplementary program that utilises flash cards, tests, online content and numerous other instrument that will help you learn effectively.

Fine tuning your skills on the move would not be a problem as French Complete Edition comes along with five audio CDs jam-packed with more than 1200 PocketPC, iPod/iPhone and MP3 media files specially designed for on the move learning.

While it might not be endowed with as much features and tools as Tell Me More Frech and Fluenz French or as affordable as Rocket French, French Complete Edition stood out as a credible alternative to learning the French language delivering its lessons in an enjoyable learning environment.

Tell me More French Review4.5admin2011-11-04 07:18:40Learning French is easy with “TopTenREVIEWS Gold Award” winner, Tell Me More French. Tell Me More brings together a wide variety of features and t…

Comments are closed on this post.